March 23, 2022

To: Stacy Angier, Chairperson Board of Commissioners

CC: Ken Hetlage, Interim Chief Operating Officer

Dr. Joshua Lenchus, Interim Chief Medical Officer

FROM: Barry Gallison, VP Clinical Quality & Risk Management

<u>Summary</u>: In order to ensure compliance with all statutory requirements and administrative regulations the Corporate Quality Department is recommending that the North Broward Hospital District Board of Commissioners take formal action to ratify the appointment of all individuals currently serving in the roles of Regional Risk Manager, Regional Grievance Lead, Regional Infection Prevention Lead, Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Lead, and Patient Safety Officer. While these individuals fall under the direction of the President/CEO, the Board's formal approval is consistent with the District's prior practice and is required under certain statutory and regulatory standards.

### Request:

# **Regional Risk Managers:**

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Risk Managers**, under Florida Statute, Section 395.0197 and Florida Administrative Code, Chapter 59A-3, to include **Marllury Altamirano for Broward Health North**, **Martin Hynes for Broward Health Medical Center**, **Collette Small for Broward Health Imperial Point**, and **Claudine Robinson for Broward Health Coral Springs**.

## **Regional Grievance Leads:**

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Grievance Leads**, under Joint Commission Standard RI 01.07.01 to include **Andrew Sinclair for Broward Health North**, **Elizabeth Hernandez for Broward Health Medical Center**, **Collette Small for Broward Health Imperial Point**, and **Summer Marrero for Broward Health Coral Springs**.

#### **Regional Infection Prevention Leads:**

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Infection Prevention Leads**, under Joint Commission Standard IC 01.01.01 to include **Christina Hinkle for Broward Health North**, **Heidi Rubin for** 



Broward Health Medical Center, Patricia Dale for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Cecile Kaplan for Broward Health Coral Springs.

# **Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Leads**:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Leads**, under Joint Commission Standard MM 09.01.01 to include **Dr. Indulehka Gopal for Broward Health North**, **Dr. David Droller for Broward Health Medical Center**, **Dr. Stephen Renae for Broward Health Imperial Point**, and **Dr. Melvin Kohan for Broward Health Coral Springs**.

## **Patient Safety Officers:**

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Patient Safety Officers**, under Leapfrog National Quality Forum Safe Practices 6A 1.2 to include **Christopher LaRue for Broward Health North**, **Janet Dougherty for Broward Health Medical Center**, **Donna Williamson for Broward Health Imperial Point**, and **Maria Belyea for Broward Health Coral Springs**.

March 2022	Regional Risk Manager	Regional Grievance Lead	Regional Infection Prevention Lead	Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Lead	Patient Safety Officer
Source	AHCA Sec 395.0197 FS CH 59A-3 FAC	Joint Commission RI 01.07.01	Joint Commission IC 01.01.01	Joint Commission MM 09.01.01	Leapfrog National Quality Forum Safe Practices 6A 1.2
BHN	Marllury Altamirano	Andrew Sinclair	Christina Hinkle	Dr. Indulekha Gopal	Christopher LaRue
ВНМС	Martin Hynes	Elizabeth Hernandez	Heidi Rubin	Dr. David Droller	Janet Dougherty
BHIP	Collette Small	Collette Small	Patricia Dale	Dr. Stephen Renae	Donna Williamson
BHCS	Claudine Robinson	Summer Marrero	Cecile Kaplan	Dr. Melvin Kohan	Maria Belyea